Well, nearly

Meant to do 18, did 3! My legs said no, the rest of me was willing, I even had a head torch, but legs said they wanted to rest a bit. So I gave them the benefit of the doubt.
Spent much of the day making my fancy dress for tomorrow……
Stats for the year: 1106 miles run, 1643 miles biked. Much much better than last year which was min feeble.

So next year? Two ultras already entered for Jan and Feb (30 mile and 50k), the Maratona in July. I would sort of like to chip away at my marathon time to get it sub 4.30. I would also sort of like to run 100 miles a month.BUT I know that I have a habit of deciding to do such things and then real life intervenes and I find myself doing something utterly different.
And next race is on the 2nd, one that I have done several times before, and enjoyed every time (they are listed on the right hand side of the blog if you are interested)

Happy New Year !

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Kate says:

    Those are some fantastic stats. I joined a 1000 mile run challenge, but I think I totally forgot about logging my miles for the entire month of December. And I was probably 200 miles short anyway. Oh well, there's always next year.I think I'm about to sign up for my first 50K. Registration opens tomorrow, and the race (or in my case, "race") is in April. Do you use a training plan, or are you so used to doing the long long runs that you don't really need one anymore?

  2. Mercy says:

    Hi Kate, er training plan. I do research them ( I am using Relentless Forward Progress by Bryon Powell at the moment, and then I create a little program and then input it into my calendar, and then I do something else. I have a mental block on following them for too long. The only thing I don't miss is the long run, I am too scared not to do them….I think if I could ever make myself do a plan for more than a week or two, I might be less crap!!

  3. Kate says:

    Thanks! I love having a plan and followed one faithfully for my first half marathon and then less faithfully for the marathon. The results were pretty much in keeping with how well I stuck to "the plan", so I'm going to try and be faithful this time.

Leave a Reply

