Cows and Caltha

Went for a quiet potter after work, the weather had been somewhat British/UKish/maritime? In that we had frost for breakfast, sun and warmth, hail, rain, sun and warmth, rain and chill. We use our door to the outside as a temperature and air regulation device in the office and it has been open and closed several times today. That said, we are lucky down south, there are reports of chaos further north.

Saw a brief break in the clouds around 17.30 and went for it, aiming at somewhere over 4. I felt very chesty yesterday, to the point of making another appointment with the dr; but felt so much better this morning I didn’t. I don’t really understand the way it works yet, but I will get there. Went out for slow and steady and felt good, however I was held up because I found too many things to take pictures of.

Firstly Milkmaids (Cardamine pratensis) or Lady’s Smock(insert preferred local name here), one of my favourite spring flowers.

Background is the Wey & Arun navigation near here. There is (to my mind, but I am from Sussex and therefore a yokel) a fair amount of puzzlement about which bit of water is what. As far as I can tell if you have a boat, a shovel, a land rover and a trailer you could make it to the coast from er.. Woking? Again shout at me if I am ignorant.
Then a little further down the path there were these:
in a nice boggy area, several clumps of Caltha palustris (in my opinion, do please tell me otherwise- I realise I may be demonstrating lack of self esteem at this point, but I am pretty confident they are) looking just gorgeous (but the light levels were low so they are a bit too overblown in the colour department)
Pottering down the canal/river/navigation path a little you come to a path that leads (eventually) back to Loseley via a pill box and the railway.
Or you can continue towards Guildford and watch the rowing club train (from what I could see one person was rowing, one was trying to slow the boat down by adding resistance from the oars)
Bless the NT for sticking this up next to a bloody great artery of water; they are right, we do need to be careful, rain is a rare thing here at the moment ( just wait for the reports of a cloudy but dry summer, sigh) 
I am scared of cows, but from a common sense perspective I feel ( I did grow up in the countryside playing in fields of cows). However this chap was safely behind wires. You may think that from this picture he(she?) was behind deer fencing (at 6ft/1.8m ish) but no. The top of the wire was just below my waist and I am 5 ft 3/ 160cm. This was the cutest cow in the world.  As he was behind restraints I made a fuss of him and told him he was cute, this provoked a suprisingly deep moo. I feel he (or she) was like many smaller persons, and in need of talking the talk, but he did like being scratched behind his/her ears.

 All in all a good run, a smidge wheezy during and after but really not serious. I had eaten a lot of crap before so was a grown-up and took precautions ( a plastic-wrapped chocolate digestive in the key-pocket of my tights) the digestive was not used.*
*in the interests of experimentation I do have proper sweets (can’t remember brand) for runners; however I left them in Gertie’s handbag in the car, and they morphed from several gel sweets into one very large and unattractive mass, which was less practical than the aforementioned digestive.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Kate says:

    That is the hairiest cow I've ever seen! I love your pictures…getting to run by the water and watch the rowing team would be neat.

Leave a Reply

