zzzz

In just less than two weeks I should be running a marathon, and on current form I have been a little concerned as to whether this is likely to be feasible.

So this morning I decided to see if it was possible to do an 18 mile run, the theory being that if I did then I would try the marathon, if I didn’t then I would try and switch to the half.

Well I managed 18 but it took me a stupid amount of time, and the wheezle which started off ok got progressively more annoying as I went on. It was a truly beautiful day mind you. It was quite interesting trying to separate the aches and pains (which I am due for not having done enough long runs) from the rest of it. I still haven’t really made up my mind, but I felt I had another few (very slow) miles in me when I stopped.

I know I always complain about being slow, but I have gone from sub 10 min miles (which is slow) to sub 11.30 min miles. I used to wonder how anyone could run that slowly, I now wonder how I ever ran faster. But if I have time to stuff in another 18 before Great Langdale I will have a bit more confidence. If I don’t I will have a dither, you can switch on the day I think.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Kate says:

    OK, A) I know I've said this before, but YES on the pace. I've been astonished by just how much slower I got. And relieved a time or two by the fact that I can occasionally run faster, but I can't count on it anymore.B) I had a bike ride today that sounded like your run. Truly a perfect day, other than windy, and I was miserable. My knee hurts, my butt hurts, my back hurts…. so whiny on the inside and trying so hard to just appreciated the weather.

Leave a Reply

