#juneathon 16 yoga run or run yoga.

2013-06-16 10.32.42

Earlier in the week I mentioned that I had a free entry to the Gloanna yoga run via #juneathon. It was at Alexandra Palace in North London, where I had never been before. My satnav (may it never lose its sense of humour) took me in via the M4 and the north circular, and home via the A20 and the Blackwall Tunnel. Lots of London has been looked at today. Buses lanes avoided in the nick of time (or so I think) mad speed limits on the north circular (flick between 30, 40 and 50mph with no rhyme or reason) and big sticky up buildings that can’t be looked at whilst driving.

 2013-06-16 13.26.48

Ally Pally

2013-06-16 10.35.09

Yoga tent (one of two)

2013-06-16 10.34.48Tent of one of the sponsors, not convinced about the coconut stuff, tastes funny.

I wandered around a bit aimlessly after dropping my bag, the set-up was well organised but a smidge on the ‘Wooo!!!!’ side for me. All that positivity is such hard work. The weather was ok, humid but just a bit too chilly to be comfortable for long in a tshirt. There were more little dogs that I have ever seen in one park.

There was a warm-up, which was thankfully mostly ‘Wooo!’ free. And just before the start someone stopped me as they had seen my tshirt! And it turned out to be the other two #juneathon participants, Helen and Andrew.

Which was excellent, I was no longer a billy-no-mates, and we stuck together (glued by a mutual fear of ‘Wooo!’ and high-fiving) for the rest of the event. The 5k two-lap route was pretty, and a little hilly in parts; the yoga was quite advanced for many, and could have been helped by microphones/speakers. Overall it was a good event, and had bits of everything – tables to sit at with water, music, refreshments – sun would have improved it infinitely.

2013-06-16 13.27.32

And this turned out to be the tv mast that was scaled by Dr Who.

Not sure if it was the sushi or the coconut water, but I just made it to Clacket Lane services on the M25 before throwing up. Possibly just the excitement of all that ‘Wooo!!’ing. Nice clean loos though.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Helen says:

    Oh no! Hope you’re feeling better now – I hate being sick. Lovely to meet you today, hope you come to the meet up! 🙂 x

  2. I hope you are feeling better!

Leave a Reply

