She drags herself back onto the horse

And in the nick of time I am rescued from my never-ending dilemma (is my lack of action due to a severe attack of CBA* or a mild frisson of depression-induced self-esteem drought? Does it matter?  I suspect not, the cure for both is GOMFA**)

So, I am a lucky moorhen, I have been selected to be part of the crack running and writing team doing the Women’s Running 10k in September in Finsbury Park. And how did I get this lucky you ask? Just be being cool and greedy enough (an unusual combination, I agree) to metaphorically stick my hand in the air and go ‘Me me me me me me .. er please’. And the very nice and extremely clever ladies at Write This Run clearly felt there was a lack of waterfowl, so let me in.

In the light of this I thought I had better challenge my dilemma (warning, possible confusing metaphor approaching), grab it by its horns, wrestle it to the ground, stick some trainers on it and take it running with me. Turns out the dilemma starts out fast and wilts after 3 miles, I made it suffer through 5, hah!

Tomorrow we appear to be released from grey humidity and return to sun and heat, so cycling. How I squeeze the dilemma on the bike I don’t know, the horns will be a nightmare. Ok officer,  I will place the metaphor on the ground and walk away, slowly.

*Can’t be arsed, the abbreviation for those who CBA to type can’t be arsed, I will never, ever tire of this joke. Sorry.

**Getting off my fat arse, really the cure for most things in the long run.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Congratulations! Sounds like a fab opportunity to get running and blogging too 🙂 The race looks great, I’ve signed up too, was swayed by the cake at the end 😉

    1. mercyjm says:

      CAKE! Wow, I didn’t notice (I must have had a bag over my head or something). Even better, look forward to seeing you there 🙂

  2. I think the race is going to be fantastic and I am ever so jealous!

    I assumed the F word in questions, was well, the F word. 🙂

    1. mercyjm says:

      I will make you suffer every moment of the race with me. Apparently there is cake, I didn’t realise!

  3. Kate says:

    Yes! Get on the bike (or, I guess, got on the bike at this point ). Could you please wrestle my motivation and convince it to run as well?

Leave a Reply

