A quicky!

Have been home since Sunday am, with jetlag, a fit of the blahs and a surprise. Much love to Cindy for nudging me to appear in public!

Ok. I have a lot of photos to post, so I will do it backwards. This weeks excitement (after a much-too-full-on week for someone who was very dopey) is Harvey! Harvey is a rehomed Havana (you need to say it with ze accent of a Cuban bar tender). He was dehomed due to shyness and terror of marauding neighbour-cats, who came in through his cat flap and left him with nowhere safe to live. As you can see, he has nice reflective retinas.

2013-11-03 08.03.37

So he is shy, timid and nervous. But this does not affect his appetite in any way. He has the appetite of a truck driver who has never had a Yorkie bar, a walker without a cheese and pickle sandwich or a caterpillar.

2013-11-01 19.06.40

Having scoured the wisdom of the hinternet I would say that Harvey is more of an English Havana, erring on the side of the oriental body and face type. So basically he is a Siamese cat made of milk chocolate, or ripe conker, depending on how hungry you are. He is very difficult to photograph, being both shy and brown.

2013-11-03 12.40.23It looks from these photos as if he is well-settled and comfy, this is far from the truth. He is living in the rolling storage under the bed (so I can wear no trousers/jeans/track suit bottoms for a while). He will allow himself to be hauled out for stroking with complaints, which I suspect are fake, and will sit on my lap for about 30 minutes purring and wriggling until he feels he needs to go elsewhere.

He stayed in the bedroom, where he had food and litter tray for about 36 hours, and then started gradually annexing the flat. He is at the stage now (after about 4 days) where he has walked over every inch as far as I can tell. I caught him looking interestedly at the top of the welsh dresser this morning…I am not sure what to do with a young (he is nearly 5) cat who doesn’t understand ‘no’…

He appears to be keen on play, which again is new on me, I have had to buy a catnip hedgehog, and have looked at the other toys and decided that I might be able to make better. He really, really likes food. He has a very low expressive voice, even louder than Willow’s which is a feat in itself. I would guess it is a contralto. He is (so far) very good at communicating put-upon-ness (when I drag him out for a cuddle), hunger and oh yes, hunger. He is pretty much the most beautiful cat I have ever seen.

Anyway, I have so many wonders to blog (albatrosses! penguins!), I will get round to it. I am just suffering from (initially) wonder-severance, in that I wanted to stay a lot lot longer; and tiredness in that I was tired when I was there – ignored it so I could have fun, had a tiring trip back and a tiring week. Oh and I have way too many birds now. Poor Harvey has already suffered the indignity of a fluffy Takahe to the head.

 

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. That’s good news! It sounds like you’re going to have fun getting to know each other. Glad to see you back in the land of the blogging. x

  2. I am glad to that you had a lovely trip and that Harvey has a loving and safe home now. He’s gorgeous! 🙂

  3. Sophie says:

    Awww, he is so sweet (and you two seem to be getting on pretty well)…looking forward to Harvey’s next adventures! 🙂

  4. Kate says:

    What a sweet new friend! Hopefully he continues to adjust to his happy new home. Looking forward to hearing about your adventures. 🙂

Leave a Reply

