Blogosphere, I am looking for a kick.

Can one or all of you lovely people give me a kick up the arse/ass please? I have stalled in winter-land. My main issue is that work is going (at the moment) nicely and is very interesting, but the rest of my life has shrunk to nothing. For list of my other issues read the last two years of stuff …..*yaaaaaaaawn.

So I am presenting my now-very-fat bottom for a boot. I need to run and cycle regularly for my physical and mental health. Do you have (along with the imprint of your size 37-45s /4-8s/ er US sizes?) any help? I used to be able to get out regularly, with the usual whinging and prevaricating, but it seems to have got out of control now, and whilst I really love it when I go, I just don’t go. I write/type out training programmes, I enter races, I wear my running gear to work. I do nowt. I have some time off in the next couple of months so I will have a bit more time to start something off, but next year looks nasty work-wise, so no let-up after January.

So help please. I will publish Harvey the cat’s kitten photo as a reward, it is quite funny (and for those two who have seen it already I will buy you a drink). If you want both you have to tell me in person πŸ™‚

Ta x

Β 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. siany1 says:

    I’ve found the freezing conditions and darkness descending early tough too – my evening runs are hard now if they happen at all. I actually find it easier to run at lunch time at the moment as it’s the warmest and brightest part of the day. Being outdoors in the sunshine too will do wonders for mental health – sometimes I think we coop ourselves up in our offices in the winter – leaving the house when it’s dark and coming back home in the dark can’t do much for our sanity! πŸ™‚ I’ve also been doing a lot of stuff indoors – bit of online yoga (www.doyogawithme.com) in the warmth and comfort of my own home.

  2. Whatever you do, please continue your blog because I was enjoying it – you’ve been too quiet recently. I can relate to how you feel: I’m not into running or cycling but definitely feel stuck in a rut sometimes and the weather makes it worse. Perhaps if you get back out there you will inspire the rest of us! x

  3. You can do it! πŸ™‚ (granted I feel the same way 98.8% of the time as well)

  4. Kate says:

    Would making plans with a friend help? I know there have been PLENTY of times when the only reason I was dragging my ass out of bed was because someone was counting on me. Left to my own devices, I have a hard time making myself do anything.

  5. mercyjm says:

    Added for my personal untrainer who has an uncooperative iPhone
    1. I will cook you a really tasty supper once a week if you can prove you have exercised by showing me new bruises.
    2. Perhaps you need a person or people to go running with? You used to belong to both a running group and a cycling one- would it help to join up again?
    3. There is not much going on for you apart from work. Do not feel alone there, all I seem to do at the moment is commute, work, eat (drink) and sleep. I think it feels more like that when one comes home in the dark. Have you got your sad light going yet?
    4. I will start inviting you to things. If you refuse you have to run or cycle instead. If you don’t refuse you will feel so happy that you will run all the way home!

Leave a Reply

