Aha Jim lad.

on
2015-05-25 16.52.22
Whitstable Harbour

Irresistible but probably incorrect piratical quote, the link will take you to an unfeasibly interesting critique of quiz answers from 1997. Isn’t the internet wonderful? The reason for the pirate flavour is that I have just seen a man walking (in that the man was walking the parrot was riding on his shoulder, as is traditional) his African Grey parrot on Herne Bay seafront. He also had three dogs, I can’t tell you the breed because I was staring at the parrot. No wooden legs, pieces of eight or hats were evident. I must have looked like a loon, because I went from frowny concentrating face to goofy grin in the space of the time it took me to process ‘something on shoulder…bird…real bird?…real bird…parrot? yes parrot! omg parrot being walked by man not dressed as pirate!! how cool is that?’ My inner dialogue is enthusiastic but not profound.

2015-05-25 16.52.27
Whitstable Harbour, it doesn’t really look it but it is too busy to run this far into the town. All that bank holiday jollity. Pah.

Anyway, it was one of those runs that snatched a bad day and turned it into a good day, few things in life can do that almost 100% of the time, but running is pretty reliable as long as I can get my arse out of the door. 8 miles through the somewhat desultory dregs of Bank Holiday Monday; the weather has not been bad, but not beach good.

2015-05-25 17.51.44
Medals everywhere at the moment. 🙂

Yesterday I pottered off to the far side of Canterbury (gasp, the otherworldliness!) for a 10 miler. One of the best things about moving is all these new races within easy reach. This was the perfect antidote to my gripes about the Bewl Half. It was run by the people who did the UKC 10k from a few weeks back, and mercifully (I wince each time I type it, trust me) they avoided the music this time and just went for the decent local run.

Aylesham
Self explanatory really..

It was a brilliant race, with lots of marshalls and mile markers; and the quietest lanes I have ever run in. The villages were gorgeous and the weather was just perfect. And to cap it off there were free (yes free) sports massages at the end. Perfection, sad to say I was so focussed on the fact that I was really enjoying running every second of it that I failed to take any pictures. You will just have to wait for next time.

2015-05-24 10.29.43
The start and the only picture I took, excepting the accidental selfie which will not be shared.
Leave a Reply

