#adventrunning day 6 Studd Hill or make a thing from that shape!

6

Just to prove that I do read comments, even if I manifestly fail to answer most of them; today was a brief tour of Studd Hill for furtheron.

It is a slightly mad place, a private estate on the western edge of Herne Bay. To be frank I would love to live there, it has that slightly ramshackle, non-uniform appearance that appeals to me. And it is next to what I consider to be my ‘home patch’ of coast.

Most of the  ‘roads’ are named for car manufacturers, many of bygone days. I place roads in inverted commas as being a private estate they are not maintained by the council and are a bit patchy. The concrete that typifies the north Kent coast is here but crunched up into manageable crumbs. The council send out a special teeny bin lorry to save crumbling them further. Each house is different, most are single story but not all. Some have flash cars in the drive, some have classic cars, some have rusting lumps. Some are brand new, some indeterminate. I avoided taking pictures of individual houses because it felt too intrusive, it is that sort of place. I got the impression that most were inhabited rather than holiday homes.

The photo of the road (plus unavoidable shadow of me) is of Morris Avenue, my namesake. If anyone wishes to buy me a house on Morris Avenue for Xmas that would be great, thanks.

TalboAvenue is Talbot Avenue, possibly road-sign weevils ate the t and the space.

4.1 entertainingly twisty miles, with a proper hill on the way home.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. furtheron says:

    Thank you so much. Tons of odd memories – Talbot Ave was where we used to rent the bungalow I think. Even though I live not that far away, visit Whitstable often and used to actually drive past on a daily commute for 19 years at one point I can’t remember if I’ve ever actually been back to Studd Hill.

    Last holiday we had there was the year they opened the new cafe by the old boat pond – last time I remember passing that was now a table tennis club or something like that.

    It was always a bit – unique – even as a kid the roads never felt like the roads where we lived mostly due to the cheap way the concrete had been laid

  2. mercyjm says:

    It is a fascinating place isn’t it? It seems to have quite a good community feel now. I have this theory that there was a post-war concrete surplus that was used up on the north Kent coast.

Leave a Reply

